New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Newbie here - Amsterdam

ceyerly

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Newbie here - Amsterdam

On a recent work trip I was able to take a single afternoon and wander around Amsterdam. Below are what I believe to be the best shots. It was very cloudy, which wasn't ideal. I'll gladly take any critique or suggestions. They were PP is lightroom. I'll gladly post a link to the RAW files if anyone really wants to mess with them.

Thanks!

Chris

Apr 07, 2017 at 03:41 PM
sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Newbie here - Amsterdam

Welcome.
I have learned a ton here. Hope you find it as helpful.

In each of these shots you need to ask yourself what it the main message, key compositional element(s). Then prune away.
In the first you are clearly highlighting the street signs. Which means you want little else included, and probably prevent edges of the signs from being cut off. It's a challenging angle with so much in the BG, but consider a tighter crop, now that you have shot.
Second, to me, adds the repetitive elements of the BG, capturing the flavor of the local architecture, with an implied interaction or inter-relationshp between the cyclist and the cars on the road. Including a little more on the right (to get the whole car) and a little less on the left (to exclude the extraneous stop light) would tighten up the comp and message. However it's still tricky because there is so much space between the cyclist the vehicles.
I think you have attempted to include too much in your efforts at this point. Do you want the contrast between old and new? Or what about a statement about the colorful barges and old architecture behind them? Is the bridge adding anything?
I'd eliminate the right half of the image to focus on the barges ,but still wish the leftmost barge was fully in the capture.