FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

end

Need faster recycle time on Godox tt685s

Mark_L
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Need faster recycle time on Godox tt685s

Jimi3 wrote:
Well, ok, that's why I've specified I'm a beginner! Also, this is bare off camera flash - I discovered that my flash bender is basically useless in bright sun, and was without any other modifiers. First time doing this and all! But my question stands to both of you who insist I should be shooting natural light and/or that I'm hung up on "conforming" to a look - how would you handle this situation? On an overcast day or in a location with shade available, I could certainly go natural light or add a just a kick of flash, but
...Show more

Direct sun can look fine on dogs as it brings out the texture on the fur otherwise do what what I suggest in my first reply: backlight the dog and then raise the amount of light on the dog (which will be shadow).

Many people when they discover flash like the unnatural overpower-the-sun look because it looks dramatic and go on searching for more and more power or sync speeds. When you have a hammer everything looks like a nail. Usually as they go on growing as a photographer, they become more nuanced with their use of artificial light which is why you hardly ever see it in the work of the top photogs. A little goes a long way, anything more than 30% flash typically looks quite unnatural and artificial.

Mar 28, 2017 at 03:15 PM
dougfatheruk
• •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Need faster recycle time on Godox tt685s

Hey,

Big Godox fan here, TT600, TT685, AD360-ii, AD600 and up until yesterday the AD200.

My AD200 actually crapped out on me yesterday, I was getting to a point where it would only fire 1 HSS shot from cold and then would not fire for 10 seconds, this is typically the symptom of thermal protection but the AD200 was beeping instantly after a full power dump so it looks like it went faulty.