Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2017 · Switching from a cropped to full-famed camera.

Mlehere
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Switching from a cropped to full-famed camera.

I am currently using a Canon 70D and have been reasonably happy with it. However, I am thinking of moving to a full framed camera. Possibly a 6D or 5D Mark3.I am by no means a professional. I am a amateur and most of my shoots involve nature and landscape shots and some family protraits. I also am interested in shooting some astrophotography including Sun and solar system objects. I am also 71 years old. I am looking for some advice as it relates to the 6D vs. the 5D mark3.
Mike

Mar 22, 2017 at 12:34 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Switching from a cropped to full-famed camera.

I think the 6D was made especially for you. Overall, the 6D AF system is not as advanced as the 5DIII, but the 6D centre AF point is one of the best in the business, especially in low light. The big advantage of the 5DIII is that it has many off-centre cross-type AF points. The 6D is smaller, lighter, and provides excellent IQ. I've been using a pair of 6D for about four years, for just about anything, except for serious action, when I use 1D-series cameras.

Mar 22, 2017 at 01:16 PM
dtolios
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Switching from a cropped to full-famed camera.

IQ wise the 6D will get you the best bang for your $ for astro (high ISO/long exposure) and landscape work when it comes to Canon FF.

For general shooting of family events, unless your current style is center AF point + recompose, it will feel a bit lacking vs. the 70D.