FM Forums | Macro & Still Life | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2017 · Lens for a Nikon?

kinconorb
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lens for a Nikon?

Hello All,

I was wondering if anyone had advice for a Nikon shooter on what would be a good AF lens for macro photography. I have a 55mm F/2.8 Micro AIS that I have been messing around with for a few years but was hoping to invest in a AF lens.

I'm looking into buying a used copy of one the following 3 lenses:

Nikon AF Micro-NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8D
Nikon AF Micro-NIKKOR 105mm f/2.8D
Nikon AF Micro-NIKKOR 200mm f/4D

The 60 I feel is too close to my MF 55mm and the 200mm cost a bit too much would need to sell some gear or maybe look for a MF version.

Mar 12, 2017 at 06:30 PM
JohnK007
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Lens for a Nikon?

I have studied Canon macros (and owned most of them) for a number of years. I moved from the Canon 180mm f/3.5 to the Sigma 180mm f/2.8 APO Macro. It blew the Canon away. After switching to Nikon a year ago, I did the same thing with their macros. The Sigma was still better than the Nikon AF macros.

However, LenScore never tested the Nikkor 200mm, so the jury is still out there. By every test I have ever seen, the Nikkor 200mm macro is better than the Canon 180 too. If you look at the FAQ of LenScore, they have a Nikkor 200mm f/4.0D IF-ED Micro in the bullpen, ready for testing

So the jury is still out there. Keep in mind, there are 3 similar Sigmas: the Sigma 150 f/2.8, the Sigma 180 f/3.5, and the newer Sigma 180 f/2.8. The last one, the 180 f/2.8 is the best of the bunch. (If you look it up on LenScore, the Sigma 180mm beats ALL AF macro lenses, Canon or Nikon, bar none ... except, again, we're still waiting on the 200 Nikkor.)

I would keep 3 things in mind before you buy:

1. Wait for the test to see which prevails, the Sigma 180 f/2.8, or the Nikon 200 f/4;
  2. Go with the better option overall;