FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Too many ducks (and other woes)

wonderer
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Too many ducks (and other woes)

In this weird transition to Spring, I've had a couple chances to try to photograph this amazing flotilla of ducks. I'm estimating the total number at over 300, at least six different species: Ringnecks, Canvasbacks, Redhead, American Widgeon, Mallards, Greater Scaup (I think) and Coots. To see them all bobbing like a floating tapestry, especially in good light, has been a real treat.

These were all shot with a 1DIV, 500 II + 1.4 III, 1/(3200-4000), f/(5.6-8). I was too far away but there was no way to get closer. I started shooting when it seemed they'd drifted close enough to have some possibility of getting some in-focus and fortunately they continued drifting closer for a while. But it never really was close enough.

I've read a bit about DOF with the optics I was using. I was hoping f/8 would yield a little better results but especially on my second trip, it was quite windy and I'm still developing my technique. I had and considered setting the rig up on a tripod, but having seen the ducks fly off when alarmed, opted to do my best sitting on-shore and bracing as best I could.

Any tips, tricks or suggestions welcome--thanks!

1. 1/4000, f/5.6

2. 1/4000, f/5.6

3. 1/3200, f/7.1

4. 1/4000, f/7.1

5. 1/4000, f/8

6. 1/4000, f/8

7. 1/4000, f/8

8. 1/4000, f/8

9. 1/4000, f/8

Edited on Mar 11, 2017 at 04:40 PM · View previous versions

Mar 11, 2017 at 03:06 PM
douter
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Too many ducks (and other woes)

Wonderful set of Cans, Redheads, et al. Kim!
Douglas

Mar 11, 2017 at 04:16 PM
morris
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Too many ducks (and other woes)

2, 5, 7, 8 and 9 are my picks Kim and they're looking very good. What you need is a boat :-}