New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · lightroom and hardware

hokiejokey
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · lightroom and hardware

I'm looking to possibly purchase a new computer. I use lightroom to process photos, but I'm not a pro and don't have millions of photos to process. But I do notice my current setup takes a fare amount of time to upload the photos from the card, then every time I bring up an image on the monitor it takes a few seconds to resolve.

What specs drive the upload time and the image load time? Is it mostly just RAM, or does having an SSD help here? What about the memory card reader?

Mar 10, 2017 at 10:34 AM
hokiejokey
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · lightroom and hardware

Or perhaps is there some tradeoff between number of cores and frequency?

Mar 10, 2017 at 10:53 AM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · lightroom and hardware

If you can spare 10 secs to use the search function you will discover this has been debated ad-infinitum already.

Mar 10, 2017 at 12:32 PM
hokiejokey
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · lightroom and hardware

15Bit wrote:
If you can spare 10 secs to use the search function you will discover this has been debated ad-infinitum already.

I did a quick internet search. I only got 86, 435 hits. Nowhere near the infinity you claim.

Pretty much every topic on FM can be found "ad-infinitum" all over the internet. I'm hoping to start a discussion that I can ask more detailed follow up questions that may be more difficult to get answered by simple internet searches. That is one of the reasons we have these forums.

Mar 10, 2017 at 01:11 PM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · lightroom and hardware

I meant the search function on FM, not google

Mar 10, 2017 at 01:16 PM
starlights
• • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · lightroom and hardware