New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Long lens & A6000 / A6300

grog13
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Long lens & A6000 / A6300

I've been using an A6000 for a couple years now and have always been annoyed by a bit of lens droop when on tripod, even with modest-sized lenses. The droop comes from flex in the camera body and an imperfect interface between camera and L-plate (due to the narrow bottom plate and mostly plastic construction). I've tried 3 different L-plates (RRS, Sunwayfoto, and some other brand X I've forgotten) and the Sunwayfoto is best, though still not great. Now I'm wanting to get an FE 70-300, but with no tripod ring, it seems way too much to hang on the A6000's L-plate. What I'm wondering is if the A6300, being a metal body, suffers from the same problem. Anyone tried the A6300 with this lens on a tripod? Or have any other ideas for a solution?

Mar 07, 2017 at 03:30 PM
Parariss
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Long lens & A6000 / A6300

I have the A6300 and the 70-300. I don't have any problems with the cantilevered weight. The barrel that extends when zooming is mostly air, so the center of gravity doesn't move as much as you might expect. I also have the 70-200GM which is much heavier. Balancing and repositioning precisely the camera with the tripod is much nicer with a tripod foot, but I don't have concerns about the weight on the mount with the 70-300. There are also some generic aftermarket lens tripod mounts (haven't used them, personally). I don't have an a6000, but from what I've read the mount was materially improved.

Mar 07, 2017 at 05:15 PM
grog13
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Long lens & A6000 / A6300

Parariss wrote: