New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

How do Pros travel with gear?

plnelson
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How do Pros travel with gear?

I'm not a pro but I figured some pros here might be able to offer advice on this.

I'm going to Antarctica shortly - flying from Miami to Buenos Aries, then to Ushuaia, then a converted NOAA research vessel across the Drake Passage to Antarctica.

The carry-on weight limit on Aerolinias Argentinas is 10 kg (22 pounds), and that's only because I'm flying Business class - in Economy it's 5 kg. Sources tell me that Aerolinias Argentinas tends to aggressively enforce weight limits. When I added up the gear I wanted to take it came to 25 pounds just for the gear (not counting cases or any other stuff to put the gear in. I'm bringing two bodies and big, fast, glass with a certain amount of redundancy in coverage incase of equipment problems. I assume a pro would also have redundancy because you can't allow an equipment problem to wreck a shoot.

How do pro's travel with gear? Do you put $20K-worth of gear in checked luggage and risk its loss ruining a shoot?

Thanks in advance.

Feb 19, 2017 at 01:10 AM
Norm Shapiro
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How do Pros travel with gear?

Why not FedEx your gear to Argentina? With proper cases your gear should arrive safely. Make sure you check custom regulations for Argentina, you might need a freight agent to get it through customs.

Feb 20, 2017 at 03:39 AM
plnelson
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How do Pros travel with gear?

Why not FedEx your gear to Argentina? With proper cases your gear should arrive safely. Make sure you check custom regulations for Argentina, you might need a freight agent to get it through customs.