New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Micro Four Thirds Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Pen F vs OmD

Herbc
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Pen F vs OmD

Being a fan of the retro look, I am in the market for a small walkabout camera. I had one of the panasonics some years ago, but went to FF (Sony) -
I am new to Olympus and cannot figure out why the Pen F and The OMD xxx are being offered-
please enlighten me about this- one is smaller profile with a 20mp sensor and the other a larger profile with a 16mp sensor. Seems like one model would do??

Jan 31, 2017 at 10:44 AM
Wilbus
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Pen F vs OmD

Style and retro looks sell. Simple as that in most cases.

You are comparing the Pen-F with the E-M5 Mk II I suppose?

In which case the better picture quality comes out of the Pen-F (albeit minor).
The Pen-F certainly has got the looks going for it, best looking camera on the market today in my opinion.

The E-M5 Mk II however is weather sealed which the Pen-F is not.

There are other changes and differences between the two. All in all though the Pen-F has got mostly newer technology and a newer higher MP sensor while the E-M5 Mk II is weather sealed and with a better EVF amongst other things.

Sure, one model would do but then again, that could be said for most camera makes and cameras, right? Slight improvement, slight changes in technology and looks makes companies sell more.

Jan 31, 2017 at 01:02 PM
bobbytan
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Pen F vs OmD

A little bit of Olympus history ….

The Olympus Pen-F was a very popular half-frame SLR back in the 60’s and 70’s which allows you to shoot twice as many frames from 1 roll of film:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Olympus_Pen_F

The OM Series SLR was immensely popular back in the 70’s and 80’s and into the 90’s because of the compact form factor and smaller 35mm lenses:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Olympus_OM_system