New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Acrylic vs Metal prints

photoin.nyc
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Acrylic vs Metal prints

I'm pretty new in large prints and I'm looking to print some of my work and hang it on the wall and maybe in the future start selling, but for now, it will be just for my own soul.

I was searching online for more information, but there's not too much to be found and it's very difficult to picture how great the print quality is.

Based on my research Mpixpro Vivid Metals is supposed to look good at an affordable price while Metal Mouth's FMK prints may have awesome quality at almost twice the cost.

I'm more interested in metal prints because of the weight and because it fades less over time.

So my question is, do you guys have any experience with these two print services?
Is FMK worth the cost?
If the price is not an issue, what type of medium you'd choose and why between metal and acrylic (Fiji Chrystal Archive) prints?

Thanks!

Jan 30, 2017 at 11:44 PM
JSecord
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Acrylic vs Metal prints

Besides being a cheesy name, those "FMK" prints are not as close to the "Peter Lik" style as they claim. The prints he displays in his galleries are Fujiflex face mounted acrylics, not some metal print add on or whatever it is that company is advertising.

Price aside, I'd go with lumachrome prints from Nevada Art Printers. They're sharper than metal prints and look incredible. I do love printing on metal as well, and customers love them, but those lumachrome prints really are special

photoin.nyc wrote:
I'm pretty new in large prints and I'm looking to print some of my work and hang it on the wall and maybe in the future start selling, but for now, it will be just for my own soul.