2       3       end

My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

imagesbyt

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? TX

Hi,

First, I'm in TeXas.

I'm a photographer on the side and I did my ex wife's sisters wedding when we were married. I was the official photographer. We have divorced, and I am getting back into photography on the side. I've created a web site and used several of the images from that wedding in my portfolio. She asked me to take them down, I informed her they were my property as the artist. I wanted to ask for advice, she's sent me a cease and desist letter asking me to remove them. i wanted to ask people's advice on this. I don't want to take them, and part of me wants to stand and fight for my artistic rights to my work.

Please give any advice, thanks

Jan 30, 2017 at 03:28 PM
Dan Grisez
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

Yes, you own the photos. However, be civil and keep the peace...take down the photos.

Jan 30, 2017 at 03:36 PM
kdphotography
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

There is a difference between "ownership" and the "right to use" images. Often a wedding contract will contain verbage on the "right to use" images for studio promotion only.

Check in with a TX attorney.

Often the anger of an ex-wife trumps the law.

Jan 30, 2017 at 04:23 PM
CMYK Designs
• •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

My opinion would be to take down the images and purchase some stock images until you can replace them with your own work. Of course, just don't represent the stock images as "your work".

Jan 30, 2017 at 04:53 PM
ab7638
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · My ex is threatening to sue me for using her photos

Hell hath no fury like a photographed woman scorned!!