New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Alternative Gear & Lenses | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

85mm legacy lenes

slabib

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 85mm legacy lenes

I'm a wedding photographer looking to add an 85mm legacy manual focus lens to my arsenal. I shoot on a Sony A7. I don't use any artificial light, so one of the most important things is being able to get a decent image wide open. Also looking to stay under $200. The canon 85mm FD is first on my list. Any other suggestions?

Samlabib.com

Jan 26, 2017 at 08:48 PM
Tri Tran
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 85mm legacy lenes

For that price it's hard to beat a Rokinon 85mm f1.4

Jan 26, 2017 at 08:54 PM
notherenow
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 85mm legacy lenes

I think legacy lenses at that price level it is going to come down to the one in the best condition.

I would be inclined to go to Ebay and just search "85mm lens" ending soonest and see what comes along.

I think just about any old 85 is going to have its fans.
I would look at ones that have some coating or maybe one with a huge number of blades for a point of interest.

Jan 26, 2017 at 09:11 PM
arduluth
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · 85mm legacy lenes

The Minolta MD 85mm f/2 is quite good wide open. There are lenses with smoother bokeh and stronger contrast wide open, but in terms of sharpness wide open it's excellent. My copy was super smooth, focus felt great. Only negative for me were the 6 aperture blades, but that's not an issue wide open. Also one of the smaller and more compact fast 85mm lenses around, which was appealing to me. My copy was $200, I've seen them for $170-220.

The Minolta MC 85mm f/1.7 is also very nice. Less sharp and more SA wide open but with better bokeh.