New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · 11-24 and City Scapes

eleff
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 11-24 and City Scapes

I just bought the 11-24 on the 10% off refurbished Canon Sale (it arrives later this week). I am a hobbyist and have recently moved from Washington D.C. to New York City. I have a 17 TSE, but now that I am in the City, I am interested in New York City street and outside skyscraper scenes.

Anyone have some good references on how to use the extreme end of the 11-24 for that purpose? Anyone voting to using just the 17 TSE and stitching instead (hopefully not since I just spent the money for the 11-24).

How critical are filters and what system do people recommend that will work with both lenses?

The lens will be mounted on my 5d-SR

Jan 23, 2017 at 02:44 PM
brnord
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 11-24 and City Scapes

It depends on your goals, really.

If you're going for a more walk-around, creative approach I think the 11-24 would be a very fun lens to try in a big city. If this is the case, just start using it - apply what you know or think you know and experiment to learn more. As with most wide angle photography, just be aware of your perspective and what that does to your foreground and background.

But, if your goal is to create architectural photography with no converging verticals, no perspective distortion and the ability to make panos then you already had 1 of the 2 best lenses for that application - the other being the 24 TS-e.

Jan 23, 2017 at 02:52 PM
Plinian
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 11-24 and City Scapes

I bought the 11-24 about a year ago, after having owned (and enjoyed) the 17TSE for a couple years previously, and I love having the 11-24, in part for the compositional flexibility that comes with any zoom, and in part because the 11-24 seems to handle flare much better than the 17TSE.