New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · Exposure help with 7DII

secondclaw
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Exposure help with 7DII

For a long time I have been primarily a landscape shooter, using A7R with Canon glass. Exposure is very easy because I have time to plan out the shot, and with extra DR latitude, it's easy to fix mistakes.
Recently I started shooting with 7DII and my new 100-400 mk2 lens. While I love the combo, I am struggling with getting right exposure at times when I track a subject. I have exposure set to Evaluative metering (which I believe is the only mode in 7DII that evaluates exposure based on currently used focus point).
When I shoot flying birds against the sky, exposure is wrong, heavily underexposed (which shouldn't happen I think if focus point is used) and I have to adjust exposure compensation to +0.7 or +1. But as the bird transitions to ground level, +1 exposure ends up being too slow and too bright, so I have to constantly struggle to shift exposure compensation all while tracking the bird. In some cases, camera nails exposure (like back-lit subjects) perfectly, and in some cases its a mess.
Due to very low adjustment latitude (especially when I shoot at high ISO), I can't figure out how to get the camera to be more accurate with exposure when tracking. Any recommendations, like settings to use, and best practices for this camera?
Thanks!

Jan 22, 2017 at 04:44 PM
newphoto
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Exposure help with 7DII

I have the same setup. If I am not mistaken (and I may be)I don't believe the 7D uses the focus point at any time for exposure. I have gotten better results using center weighted exposure with flying birds. At any rate the 7D II is much more forgiving in DR then the old 7D was in my opinion.

Jan 22, 2017 at 04:54 PM
arbitrage
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Exposure help with 7DII