Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2017 · How well does calibrating help a "cheap" monitor?

IrishDino
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How well does calibrating help a "cheap" monitor?

I've been using a 24" Dell UltraSharp (uncalibrated) for 4 years now. It's time to upgrade to something 30"+

There seems to been tons of 30"+ IPS 4k monitors out there, ranging in price significantly.

If I use something like a X-Rite i1Display Pro, how well can I cleanup a cheaper (~$500) monitor?

I don't need something perfect for the work I do (weddings). I just need something "good enough".

Jan 08, 2017 at 08:08 AM
Ho1972
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How well does calibrating help a "cheap" monitor?

How do you typically output your files (prints, books, digitally)? If you just hand off digital files for device viewing, calibration doesn't much matter because you have no control over anyone else's devices and viewing environments (i.e., what you see won't necessarily be what they see).

If you print, then your monitor needs to give you a reasonably accurate representation of what will appear on paper -- and limiting your service providers to one or two trusted entities (as opposed to going with whoever has the cheapest price this week) will help you fine tune your hardware and expectations. You may be able to accomplish this without calibration equipment, assuming your monitor has decent uniformity in brightness and color.

In the end, it comes down to how critical you and your clients are. Good enough means different things to different people. For the consuming public, it generally denotes acceptance of the lowest common denominator.

Jan 08, 2017 at 09:04 AM
dgdg
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How well does calibrating help a "cheap" monitor?