Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Fuji Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Lens critique/input for Fuji XT2 Newbie (Landscape/Travel/Food/Portraits)

killagbear

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lens critique/input for Fuji XT2 Newbie (Landscape/Travel/Food/Portraits)

Hello all! I'm new to the Fuji community and would love to get a few lens recommendation. I'm coming from a Canon and after hiking in Tasmania with a 6D, 17-40 and a 24-70 for 6 hours I swore I'd make the jump to mirror less

Most of pictures these days are centered around landscapes or food (especially when I travel). When I do freelance work it's usually portraits. Here's what I was thinking for a gear setup -

23mm f/2 WR - for general walk around, architecture, landscape, museums, food, and full body portraits

56mm f/1.6r - for free lance portraits (I still haven't decided if this merits keeping around or if I should rent it when I need it for the bokeh)

18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 WR - for backup walkaround, traveling and hiking.

I've purchased the 23 and 56 already and am holding off on the 18-135 until my vacation in June. So what do you think? Will I need the 56 1.6? Should I have opted out of the primes and gone the zoom route with with a 10-24 and 18-135??

Ultimately I want something light enough to take hiking or camping with if I need to without comprising too much on IQ

Dec 15, 2016 at 09:55 PM
Delatant
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Lens critique/input for Fuji XT2 Newbie (Landscape/Travel/Food/Portraits)

I have the 18-135. I bought it for my travel photography as it has such FL latitude. However after a couple of trips, in reviewing my images, I have come to the conclusion that they are rather "flat" compared to my other primes (23, 35, 56). I am having to re-think my travel lens(es). My wife loves it on her T1!