New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Looking for best way to track expenses and income

HelloMrLocust

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Looking for best way to track expenses and income

Let me start off by saying that I am not an organized person and I that I'm not good at keeping paper records. I've spent a lot of money getting ready for the last few art festivals I've been in. I also have a significant amount stock. I need a way to track my expenses. I would love to be able to see that I've spent xxx on matting in the last year or xxx on canvas prints for the last show. I just want to see where my biggest expenses are coming from and to see if I'm actually making any money. lol

Is there good software or apps for this?

Dec 01, 2016 at 08:29 PM
tcphoto
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Looking for best way to track expenses and income

I set up a spreadsheet listing all expense categories using Apple's Numbers application. Others use Quickbooks but I've never tried it. I will enter them into the spreadsheet whether it's materials to build sets, hotels, gear, etc. as they come in and do the same as checks arrive. I am a freelance photographer mainly shooting Advertising and Marketing projects but you should be able to adapt it to your application. Not an organized person? You'll need to be if you want to know what your overhead is and whether you're in the black or heaven forbid the red.

Dec 01, 2016 at 10:47 PM
ShotByTom
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Looking for best way to track expenses and income

Are you on a Mac or WIndows? There are a bunch of small Mac apps that do this very well. Quicken is great too.

Dec 02, 2016 at 10:56 PM
Ischgl99

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Looking for best way to track expenses and income