Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2016 · Need some help picking between two lenses.

JPuckettPhoto
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need some help picking between two lenses.

I'm a hobbyist photographer and mainly shoot family. I've done an engagement session or two for friends with no expectations, and that's about as far as I will ever go (not interested in shooting professionally). I currently use a D7100 and am fairly happy with it. I've lately gotten into setting up a home studio in my garage and generally like shooting portraiture, either in the studio or candid as my kids play around the house.

I purchased a Sigma 18-35/1.8 3 years ago and just haven't used it as much as I thought I would. It's too wide for my tastes and even on a crop sensor, I feel like I have to get closer to my subjects than I want to. Last year I picked up a Nikon 85/1.8 and love the output, but in my smaller house, I'm finding myself very often wishing I had a zoom for some versatility. I also have a Nikon 50/1.8D (that I haven't used in years) and a Nikon 105/1.8 (that I bought mainly just for dabbling in macro).

Please help me pick between these two lenses or convince me that I don't need either of them. I've listed my thought process on each.

Sigma 50-100/1.8
- Seems to be the ultimate portrait lens for crop sensor.
- Great reviews, super sharp, gives FX-like results.
- The zoom range seems perfect for what I'm looking for when shooting in studio and candid house shots.
- But then again, this seems only good for portraits and candids, but not much else. The lens seems like a one-trick pony but it is the trick I'm currently looking for.