Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · College football - Linemen time.

ronlane
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · College football - Linemen time.

As you probably already know, it tough getting good shots of the interior linemen during a football game. I finally got one that I am happy with.

Nov 09, 2016 at 12:16 PM
PureMichigan
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · College football - Linemen time.

Here is a detailed thread on shooting the Line that I started last week. Lots of good information

https://www.fredmiranda.com/forum/topic/1458425

It was an interesting experience to shoot the OL and DL exclusively. I am thinking of writing a short article on how NOT to it -- because I feel I'm now an expert on the topic. It was a tough gig and my frames--to-keeper ratio hit an all-time low.

We all take different approaches to this based on the needs of the school or media outlet. I was asked to get very tight profile pictures.

Given the time frame and expectations I just focused on each lineman with a D500 and 400MM 2.8 and shot away until I got a couple I liked. It sometime took 5 plays or more. BTW, you miss 90% of the ball action doing this, which feels odd. I tried to work from the end zones in the first quarter but found it easier to get more precise angles on the guards and center from the sidelines. the line

I don't have access to my pictures as I am travelling but here's a representative screen shot. I ended up with a lot of variations on this theme. Not going to win any awards but they do give you a sense of being in that scrum.

Nov 09, 2016 at 03:11 PM
ronlane
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · College football - Linemen time.