New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Trip Location Advice & Meet-ups | Join Upload & Sell

Handicapped photographer

Steve Bingham

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Handicapped photographer

Although I have had 60+ years shooting as a pro I now find myself handicapped. That is, I am limited to shooting out of the car, or very near it. I have a 4x Jeep and am not afraid of sand or rough stuff. Been doing it for years. I live in the middle of Arizona - Payson - and am willing to travel.

Now, does anyone have some great suggestions of where to shoot?

Nov 06, 2016 at 10:45 PM
Steve Bingham

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Handicapped photographer

Suggestions, anyone?

Nov 07, 2016 at 04:57 PM
jdc562
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Handicapped photographer

Handicapped or not, a vehicle is a a good blind for photographing roadside birds and other wildlife. Good candidates are hawks, burrowing owls, marsh birds, flycatchers, shrikes, and other birds that have favorite hunting spots. Mammals also like to forage along roads, ditches, and fencelines. Scope the area and note where birds habitually perch. Return when light is good at these spots. Try driving very slowly, even passing by the birds several times so they get used to the non-threat of your vehicle. This also works for coyotes, pronghorns, deer, bison, etc. Google search for locations where these animals are more abundant.