1       2       3       4      
       end

Cambo Actus Photographs

Audii-Dudii
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.5 #1 · p.5 #1 · Cambo Actus Photographs

genji wrote:
Looks like it might be time to kick those Sigma lenses to the curb...

Possibly, but the situation is actually a bit more complicated than that. The Sigma Art 24mm and 35mm lenses I have been using for the past six months or so have max. apertures of f1.4, whereas these Zeiss lenses have f2 and f2.8 apertures.

Although I photograph with the apertures typically set between f5.6 and f10, I need fast lenses so I can get enough light into the camera so that I can see the scenes well enough to compose and focus a photo. Generally, there's enough light in the downtown Phoenix areas where I photograph that I can work with an f2 or f2.8 aperture, but for other areas where I photograph, such as around my suburban neighborhood, even an f1.4 aperture is sometimes not fast enough.

So, yeah, I could easily replace the Sigmas with these Zeiss lenses and live happily ever after if I only photograph in some, but not all of the areas where I like to photograph. Which is why I initially swapped my Contax N 17-35/f2.8 zoom for Sigma's 24-35/f2 zoom; that the IQ was surprisingly excellent (but also quite a bit different than that of the Contax N lenses) was merely a bonus.

As such, the real test for these lenses will be when I photograph with them around my neighborhood, which I'll probably start doing again next week.

But IQ-wise, Yeah, there's always been something a bit magical about Zeiss lenses for me and these are proving to be no exception to that rule...

Aug 14, 2017 at 03:45 AM
Audii-Dudii
• •
p.5 #2 · p.5 #2 · Cambo Actus Photographs

Although I'm concerned about its slow (f2.8) aperture when it comes to composing photos in some of the less well-lighted places where I photograph, the Zeiss ZK 25/f2.8 absolutely kicks butt for medium-distance subjects such as this one, which I took at 2:46 am this morning: