Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Light stand and modifier with Xplor 600 (Godox AD600)

jr19

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Light stand and modifier with Xplor 600 (Godox AD600)

Hey everybody. I'm fairly new to lighting equipment. I have a couple LumoPro LP605 light stands, a couple speedlights, a white umbrella, and a 28x28" softbox. I've decided I want something with a little more power to overpower the ambient lighting during the day, and I'm going to purchase the manual Xplor 600 strobe. I don't have any experience with strobes at this point, so I'm not super familiar with the equipment I need to go along with them.

I do all of my shooting on location at this point, and I do a lot of it outdoors. I have a feeling that my current stands are not up to the task of holding up the strobe. According to the LumoPro website, the max capacity of the stand is 5 pounds. It looks like the whole strobe setup weighs 5-6 pounds. What would some good portable alternatives be?

Also, I'm not super familiar with all the mounting terminology. If I buy the Xplor 600 with Bowens mount, I'd sort of like to get a compatible softbox/octabox for portraits. I was looking at the Westcott Rapid Box 26" octabox, but do I need to get some kind of Bowens adapter to use it?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Oct 31, 2016 at 02:02 AM
BSPhotog
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Light stand and modifier with Xplor 600 (Godox AD600)

For light stands, I really like the 9' Manfrotto 1005BAC. It is solid as can be, heavy duty, folds fast, and supports well over the weight of your strobe & modifier. (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/609051-REG/Manfrotto_1005BAC_1005BAC_Alu_Ranker_Light.html)