New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Two Long Lens Setup for D500: Recommendations Please

ariot
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Two Long Lens Setup for D500: Recommendations Please

I sold my 200-500 and got a Nikon USA Refurbished 300 f2.8 VRII. I flirted with the older ones but just waited to buy the latest. Some list even the VRII as a wait and see since it may get the lighter treatment from the 400 and 600 FLs.

The "300 Two Eight" has always been I lens I wanted to own, going back into the 1990s.

I'm far from an expert shooting wildlife, I'm just learning it is harder than things I shot back in the day, like sports (for example, humans are much slower and larger than birds!! )

I would add that I started to hand-hold it, but on the D500, I found that always using a monopod or tripod is the best bet. That D500 seems to spot flaws real quick in SS and stability.

With the 1.4x and 2x TC and a bit of luck with light, you can really have some fun.

Oct 28, 2016 at 01:27 PM
Chris_88
• • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Two Long Lens Setup for D500: Recommendations Please

ariot wrote:
I sold my 200-500 and got a Nikon USA Refurbished 300 f2.8 VRII. I flirted with the older ones but just waited to buy the latest. Some list even the VRII as a wait and see since it may get the lighter treatment from the 400 and 600 FLs.

The "300 Two Eight" has always been I lens I wanted to own, going back into the 1990s.

I'm far from an expert shooting wildlife, I'm just learning it is harder than things I shot back in the day, like sports (for example, humans are much slower and larger than birds!! )

I
...Show more

Thanks. I'm sure there will be an FL at some point, but looking at the prices of the 400/500/600 FL, I doubt that I'd be able to afford that lens.