Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

5D4 workflow ... is it up to speed yet?

DoubleDragon

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5D4 workflow ... is it up to speed yet?

What is the current state of support for the 5D4 camera?

I'm a wedding photographer, my 5D3 workflow is to use PhotoMechanic to cull and LR5 for processing. I'm looking for feedback from people using the new 5D4, as I am considering a purchase but wanted to hold off until Adobe supports it fully or until there are established workflows that fit the common wedding photographer's needs.

First of all, will PhotoMechanic5 read the RAWs? That is absolutely necessary for me as culling in LR is not an option.

Also, I was reading a while ago that LR5 and also LR6 did not yet have native support for the 5D4 RAW files... and that users of these new cameras had to convert the RAW into a DNG file, via a free app from Adobe, then import that DNG into Lightroom. Is that still the case? Is there a drawback to converting canon RAW files to DNG? For example, are we losing color depth or anything like that when converting?

Anyway, if you are using the new 5D4 and have aestablished a workflow, please answer my questions and let me know if my old workflow will still be possible (Photomecanic for culling then off to LR for processing)

Oct 26, 2016 at 11:47 PM
gvg45
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 5D4 workflow ... is it up to speed yet?

LR5 will not work with 5DIV RAW files. You'll need to upgrade to LR6 stand alone software ($79), which works as LR5 works with your 5D3, or purchase a subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud.

I don't know about PhotoMechanic.

Oct 27, 2016 at 12:04 AM
DoubleDragon

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 5D4 workflow ... is it up to speed yet?