New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Nikon saved my butt today...

RSHPhotography
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Nikon saved my butt today...

Ok, So last weekend, late at night when the wife and baby were asleep, I finally got to rearrange my bags.

Some context: I started shooting Canon and have Canon gear and added Nikon a few years ago. I still shoot both depending on the job.

I have a Nikon DX bag with DX camera and lenses, my main FX bag, and my Canon bag of APSC and 5D mk2.

Anyways, I made some changes and wanted to keep at least a mix of canon and Nikon in all three bags. Sounds stupid, I know, but I tend to shoot with others and in case something happens I have the right body or lens to borrow, etc...

So fast forward to this morning where I'm in downtown Toronto to photographs some new executives for Rogers. I take the appropriate bag and head out.

I get to the location, open my bag and it's a Nikon D700 with a Dx 18-105 lens from my old D7000 in the bag along with a 28mm 1.8G. My Canon is my 5D Mark 2 with my 18-135 STM lens. I have no idea what I was thinking when I put this bag together. I thought I put my 50mm 1.8 STM in there but it's in another bag.

Suffice to say, my Canon setup was useless because I can't even put that lens on the body. No problems with Nikon since FX takes DX lenses.

I ended up taking full body shots with the 28mm 1,8G and headshots with the 18-105 DX lens (not a bad lens by the way). I would have hated to take close up headshots with the 28mm. I like a long lens for that.

So thank you Nikon for allowing me to make a huge mistake and not look like a total idiot.

Oct 26, 2016 at 07:15 PM
Todd Warnke
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Nikon saved my butt today...

Nikon saves my butt every time I go click ... great story.

Oct 27, 2016 at 02:51 AM
petterf