Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Phottix vs Godox - Remote Speedlight Systems

BSPhotog
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Phottix vs Godox - Remote Speedlight Systems

I'm a wedding and portrait photographer and am looking to change my remote wireless speedlight system. I've been using a Cactus for my wireless stuff for about 3 years and, in theory, they are a good fit for my needs. They are relatively inexpensive, they are brand agnostic, allow for remote power control and zoom of flashes, as well as dumb triggering of manual flashes and strobes. Easy. I've been experiencing more and more problems with the wireless simply not communicating properly, even at short distances, so I am thinking about jumping ship to something else.

My priorities are to have remote manual flash control, preferably with zoom control and at least 3 groups. I would like a system with built in radios in the speedlights and AA battery power for everything. I also would like to have an inexpensive way to trigger remote manual speedlights/strobes at the same time, also allowing for them to be used in one of the group settings. A feature that I haven't "needed" but am interested in would be having a TTL on camera speedlight that can control the lights off camera as well.

Things I'm not needing would be remote TTL, HSS, and proprietary lithium battery systems.

Current lighting gear:

Cactus V6 Transceivers (x6)
Cactus RF60 (x4)
Nikon SB900
Yongnuo YN568EX
Yongnuo YN560
LumoPro LP160 (x4)
Impact 500WS strobes (x2)