FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2016 · Something to laugh at or....Cry

Daniel Smith
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Something to laugh at or....Cry

chez wrote:
Right...with his elitist "I'm a photographer because I have expensive gear" attitude.

Maybe it is because it is his job?
Maybe it is because no matter the conditions he has to come back with images that tell the story?
Maybe because he produces without excuses, on time, on budget and on target?
Maybe it is because he is a professional with experience, liability insurance, clients and a history of success when the 'decisive moment' appears?

You buy a camera - you're a photographer. You by a piano - you own a piano.

Dec 28, 2016 at 04:03 PM
chez
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Something to laugh at or....Cry

Daniel Smith wrote:
Maybe it is because it is his job?
Maybe it is because no matter the conditions he has to come back with images that tell the story?
Maybe because he produces without excuses, on time, on budget and on target?
Maybe it is because he is a professional with experience, liability insurance, clients and a history of success when the 'decisive moment' appears?

You buy a camera - you're a photographer. You by a piano - you own a piano.

Then if he is a PRO...then he needs to deal with reality...and reality is everyone has a camera in their phone today and everyone has the same right to be there taking that photo. The guy with the expensive gear has no more right than Aunt Martha at getting the photo.

If he was a real PRO...he would have scouted out the place ahead of time and would have known there would be crowds and should have arrived earlier. What I'm seeing into the photo is an elitist attitude because he had a "real camera" and the other pions just have their iPhones and are just taking selfies where the guy with the big DSLR and $5,000 lens is shooting for a Pulitzer award.