New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Culling Away From my Desktop

ohsnaphappy
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Culling Away From my Desktop

I'm a professional wedding photographer who very often works in postproduction 8 hours a day. A big part of what I do is culling through large wedding galleries. I have a 5K iMac and it's very zippy but I'm looking for a mobile culling solution. If nothing else, this will give me the ability to cull on the couch and away from my desk. Because when you spend a lot of time in postproduction your desk can start to drive you crazy haha!

So right now I'm using LR mobile on my phone to cull through a wedding and it's not too shabby. I'm enjoying it so much in fact, that it makes me curious about an iPad Pro or the tiny 12 inch MacBook. Do any of you have experience culling through images with either of these devices? Does the Apple Pencil for example, help speed up the culling process in any way? Thanks!

Oct 21, 2016 at 02:57 AM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Culling Away From my Desktop

When I get to shoot lots of stuff (Bike and Car racing ) I'll do most of the culling on my Macbook Air .
basically import either into my Air or the iMac and then create smart previews and use them to cull . works fine for me . LR is as quick as it needs to be in Library mode (I couldn't say I could zip thru my images any faster)

but I've also been thinking about the 12" macbook . I've had a go on one with LR (the original one not the updated one) and LR ran perfectly fine . the screen is much nicer than my 11" air .

but then I've also been looking at the iPad pro (12") . I've still not done a huge amount in LR mobile but I can see that its grown into much better companion tool than it was when it came out . still not sure I could cull thru tons of images on it though .

Oct 21, 2016 at 06:16 AM
15Bit
• • • • •