New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Used telephoto zoom lens recomendations

steve_a_reno
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Used telephoto zoom lens recomendations

Let me start my saying I am newbie to DSLR. I was an avid Nikon hobbyist for many years shooting on an N90 with a 300mm f4 ED. Sold most of my gear, took a long, very long break but now am getting back in. I just picked up a d7100 and have a few older AF lenses to learn the ropes but no tele lenses.

I am looking for a budget lens. Best bang for my buck USED at around the sub 100.00 range.
Ken Rockwell gave the The Nikon 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 AF-D an excellent review aside from slow focus. http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/75300.htm Also looked at the newer 70-300mm version and the sigma APO macro but both seemed less impressive.

Eventually I will be getting a Sigma 150-600mm zoom. But don't have the money or the skills to take on that lens yet. Just looking for something to relearn on. Take some nature and sports shots with and learn the ins and outs of the 7100.

Thanks so much for any input.

Oct 20, 2016 at 05:30 PM
jpelt78
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Used telephoto zoom lens recomendations

Is that a typo there where you say sub $100? Not sure there is much in that range that will work well on the newer digitals.

I picked up a 300mm f4 ED AF for a little over $400. That's a pretty sharp lens for not too much money.

I've got the kit 55-300 which is not a bad lens to start with. I think some of the older AF-D zoom lenses will not have enough resolution for the D7100 sensor.

Nikon Nikkor 55-300mm F/4.5-5.6 G ED DX AF-S VR

KEH has them for $228 in excellent + shape with the caps and hood. They usually have a discount code running for 10% off if you watch for it.

https://www.keh.com/shop/nikon-2197-55-mm-300-mm-f-4-5-5-6-telephoto-zoom-lens-for-nikon-f.html

They also have the 55-200 for $119