New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · 5D3 AF setup confusion

frank gross
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5D3 AF setup confusion

Even though I am a pretty experienced photographer, I am baffled by all the options when trying to set up the camera (Canon 5D3) for focusing.

And when which menu item/setting goes with which button/dial setting.

*Do you by any chance have a link, an article, or a very simple explanation of how to set up the af focus options. I’ve read the manual but my in-focus success rate is still poor (I understand the issues of camera/subjects movement, holding steady, slow shutter speed etc)

The kind of pictures I like to make are varied but fall into these 3 general categories –

1. My grandchildren at play. I need to be quick.
2. Street photography where the world is moving and flowing and I have to be quick.
3. Stationary, static, ‘portraits’. But with room for a little spontaneous subject movement.
...& on occasion I've been 2nd shooter for candids to a local wedding photographer.

Dials/Buttons:
Firstly, there are the dials/buttons – AF is 2nd from the left on the top. And it has One shot, AI focus, AI servo.
I’m usually on One shot.

Secondly, theAF Menu/s:
Then, there is the AF menu with 5 screens.

1. The 1st screen has 5 case scenarios and each of these 5 has 3 settings.
2. The 2nd screen is AI Servo 1st or 2nd image priority.
3. The 3rd screen has usm lens electronic MF, AF assist beam, one-shot af release prior.
4. The 4th has lens drive when af impossible, selectable af points, af area select mode, af point orientation linked to point.
5. The 5th has manual point selection, point display during focus , illumination, Af micro adjustment

1 and 2 above are the most confusing.