Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · LR and new macbook pro. I'm kinda paralyzed here...

stan2
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · LR and new macbook pro. I'm kinda paralyzed here...

I have been using a 2011 macbook pro for a few years now, and it's full. I now have a new macbook pro as a gift from the wife.

here's the issue: I have an almost full 1T hd on the older laptop. Among everything else is my LR catalogue, plus a lot, but not all, of my original photos. The new macbook pro only has a 250GB SSD (altho I also added a little slide-in 130GB Trancend card).

My problem here is that the new computer won't hold all the files, so I'll need to change my standard process to have LR on the new macbook start storing photos on an external drive now.

(Bonus issue: the older mac has some 'issues' in that it occasionally crashes, possibly due to how full it is. I've replace the battery a couple times now, which I thought was the problem, but maybe not.)

I have the older mac backed up to an external 1T drive, so it's almost full too.

Can I get some tips on how to proceed? The objective is to start using the newer macbook for the editing and have the files on a new, larger external drive. Seems like I need to transfer the old mac back-up to a larger 2-3T drive (since they are backed-up on a 1T drive that is almost full), then tell LR on the new mac where they are and to start using the new external drive. Is that it? Will that work? Will LR on the new mac be able to associate catalogues and edits I've done with the back-up drive? How do I do that? Thanks for any suggestions! I've been holding off importing or editing new photos till I get this resolved.

Oct 17, 2016 at 11:37 AM
R Schwarz