New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2016 · 5D Mark II for stills today

myk7000

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 5D Mark II for stills today

I'd love to hear peoples' thoughts around the Canon 5d Mark II today in 2016 as a stills camera.

I am a photography hobbyist, and though there seems to be so many amazing stills cameras coming out with fantastic features (like the A7RII, D810, 5DMKIV, etc.), when it comes to straight producing a fantastic image for web and print, how does the 5D Mark II honestly stand up in today's age?

If we're saying that the use case lies somewhere in the middle of the road, and doesn't involve crazy edge cases (no really fast sports, incredibly low light areas, etc.), is there a reason to be upgrading from a camera like that? Or will improvements be quite minor?

I'm starting to think about where I should be putting my money, and though in my mind it seems like going with a body like the Mark II but instead investing in some great glass seems to be the way to go, but I also see so many forum posts of folks saying how trash certain older models of cameras are compared to today's models.

Would love some thoughts!

Oct 15, 2016 at 05:52 PM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 5D Mark II for stills today

It doesn't take any worse pictures today than it did when it came out, and a lot of really good stuff was produced with mk2's.

If you are money-limited, then your only alternative is to save a bit for a 6D. That will be a fair bit better. If you can't stretch to that, then a mk2 is going to be the best Canon you can get for the money.

Oct 15, 2016 at 06:25 PM
EB-1
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 5D Mark II for stills today