New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Photoshop CC vs Premiere elements for video editing

BennyR
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Photoshop CC vs Premiere elements for video editing

You wouldn't normally find Photoshop vs anything for video editing so I thought I'd try here. I've been using Photoshop CC lately for some video work since I have it. I don't really want to spring for Premiere Pro at this point. How does the Elements version compare to Photoshop for video work? Does it offer additional features? Thank you.

Oct 14, 2016 at 05:44 PM
butchM
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Photoshop CC vs Premiere elements for video editing

It depends what you are editing video for.

While I have been using Photoshop since 1992 and am well aware of it's video editing capabilities, other than custom color correction/enhancement, Ps has little to offer when compared to a true NLE (Non Linear Editor) that can offer control over not only the video clips, transitions, text/titles and color correction/enhancement ... NLEs offer control over the audio portion as well.

Even something like iMove offers very robust capabilities when compared to Ps. It would certainly be in your best interest to download the trial versions of a couple of options and kick the tires.

I have worked trials of Premiere Pro in the past but not the Elements version. I much prefer Final Cut Pro X, it's a $299 one time fee and offers nearly everything even a professional video editor could want. Not to mention extremely user friendly. It also can use many of the same plugins/extensions that are available for PP.

Another option might be Sony, they offer an app but I can't recall the name. Again, very affordable.

Oct 14, 2016 at 07:10 PM
Peter Figen
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Photoshop CC vs Premiere elements for video editing