New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

A Couple of Friends

ChaseD

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · A Couple of Friends

Some of my close friends thought that it would be fun to go out and have some pictures taken. Needing all of the experience I can get, I agreed to go with them. I'm pretty new to photography, and am more or less self taught by means of the internet. Here are a few what I consider of my better shots. I would love to hear any basic pointers and critiques that you guys have on both general photography guide lines, as well as editing. I've found that one of the best ways to learn is trial by fire. All shot with a D7200, 50mm 1.8g, f1.8, 1/60 sec, ISO 100. If this is not the correct place to ask for critiques, please let me know.

Thanks,
Chase

Oct 14, 2016 at 03:59 AM
Vcook
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · A Couple of Friends

These are all soft. Either you dont have the technique to shoot at that low of a shutter speed, your lens needs fine tuning, or your copy of the 50mm 1.8g is softer wide open then mine.

To be fair I rarely shoot that lens wide open as it's a little too soft for my liking at 1.8, but by 2.8 it's VERY sharp.

Oct 14, 2016 at 01:43 PM
Vcook
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · A Couple of Friends

I took this of my son last week with the 50mm 1.8g @ F1.8. probably a similar distance from him as your picture 2. You can see a significant difference in sharpness.

Oct 14, 2016 at 01:53 PM
ChaseD

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · A Couple of Friends

Absolutely can tell the sharpness difference on your picture. Aside from not shooting at 1.8, what would be some good habits to get in to in terms of technique? I'll have to do some research on lens tuning. Thanks!

Oct 14, 2016 at 06:34 PM

Search in Used Dept. 

Vcook
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · A Couple of Friends