New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · A7II or A7R (mk 1)

Aaron Cowan
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · A7II or A7R (mk 1)

I'm looking into getting a Sony FF camera soon. My budget is probably $1500 max for the camera so obviously looking to buy used given the two options in the subject.

I've rented both, but it's been almost 2 years since I rented the A7R. I'm aware of any ergonomic/adapter/menu eccentricities of each camera. I like the higher resolution of the A7R but wonder if the ISO capability of the A7II is better, though at lower resolution (but still not bad; I'm not a pro, just shooting for fun!).

My current setup is a Canon 5DII. I shoot landscape 90% of the time and then family/travel the rest of the time.

Given my photography use and these two options, which would be best? Please keep in mind the $1500 budget...

Oct 13, 2016 at 12:06 PM
rdeloe
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · A7II or A7R (mk 1)

I think it comes down to whether or not you need the resolution, the type of photography you'll do, and whether or not you can live with the compromises that come with both cameras.

Are you planning to print your images? If so, what's the maximize size you expect to print and what's your minimum pixels per inch (ppi)? For example, if the largest you'll ever print is 17" in the short edge, then you can expect 235 ppi from the A7II and 289 ppi from the A7r. I consider 200 ppi the bare minimum (assuming a normal viewing distance), so both cameras would work be acceptable. If your goal is 24" in the short edge, then an A7II wouldn't quite cut it (for me) and an A7r would be fine. Mind you plenty of people would say the 167 ppi you'd get with an A7II at 24" short edge is more than fine for normal viewing distance.