Home · Register · Software · Software · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Micro Four Thirds Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · New Camera or New Lenses or ...?

kdenio

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · New Camera or New Lenses or ...?

Hi,

I could use some advice. I have a Panasonic GF1 that I've been using on and off for six years, and I'm trying to figure out if it's worth it to upgrade the camera, invest in a new lens or two, or just jump ship from MFT to FF.

I'm a hobbyist in bursts--I'll go a year shooting very rarely, then get super-serious about a subject for a year. Right now, I'm shooting a lot of macros of toys in a makeshift studio setting, but still shoot a decent amount of candids of my kids and on vacation and such.

The pictures I'm getting are ok for posting on the Internet, but I'm not sure they'll stand up on prints, and I feel like they're missing a certain "character". The problem could very well be the photographer and not the camera, and I'm willing to admit that.

What I'm wondering is if it would be worthwhile to upgrade to something like a used OMD E-M1 or E-M5 MkII or wait to get a new E-M1 MkII? Would I see a huge improvement in IQ and have more leeway for creativity? Or would it be better to just invest in a new lens or two and focus on my craft?

I'm also debating getting a used 5D MkII or D750 for the macro shots and just keeping the GF1 for family snapshots. I previously had a 7D, so I know what shooting with a larger body and heavier lenses entails.

My budget for a body and lens could go as high as $3,500, but I'd rather spend less than more; who wouldn't?

So, any advice?

Thanks!

Oct 08, 2016 at 05:58 PM
Ernie Aubert
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · New Camera or New Lenses or ...?

"Or would it be better to just invest in a new lens or two and focus on my craft?"