1       2       3              18      
       20              104       105       end

Archive 2016 · Front-End Filter Improves Corner Smearing

candreyo
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.19 #1 · p.19 #1 · Front-End Filter Improves Corner Smearing

Hi Ron,

The ZM 85mm Sonnar is problem free optically, but my copy of the lens has the infamous Zeiss wobble. It's been to Zeiss in Germany twice to fix this, and still it has returned for me. Zeiss charged me over 1000 euros to fix the first time, and I don't want to pay again another charge to get it right.
If I could open it up, I may be able to tighten down whatever keeps comming loose, and fix the wobble. But for the better part of me (and I'm a Opto-Mechanical Deisgn Engineer), I can't seem to open it up.😫
Possibly why this lens was assembled in Germany and not by Cosina Japan, and why it costs so much to fix the first time, I suspect it's a very complicated process with probably some special tools and jigs needed.

rscheffler wrote:
IMO the ZM28 is kind of an odd lens in that it's not a super technical performer. Odd because most often this is not what one expects out of the box from Zeiss, unless it's something like the 50/1.5 Sonnar. It's possible they considered it more of a character/reportage lens and left the technical heavy lifting for the 25?

One would expect the ZM85/2 to be rather problem-free on the Sony cameras... or have you found otherwise? In any case, it's a relatively rare lens and not inexpensive. Having briefly shot with one, I loved its rendering, if not its propensity
...Show more

Dec 26, 2016 at 05:31 AM
candreyo
• •
p.19 #2 · p.19 #2 · Front-End Filter Improves Corner Smearing

Hi Fred,

Yes, I see a similar improvement with the ZM 28mm lens aswell. 😁
Though, as others have mentioned, the 25mm ZM when it was released had some of the highest MTFs for a lens of that focal length.

I will try and get photos of the 28mm and 18mm ZM soon.

Fred Miranda wrote: