Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · System recommendations for dance photography?

sarenz

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · System recommendations for dance photography?

Hello all,

I'm new to the FM forums, and I thought this would be a good place to get some advice on what gear to use for dance/ballet photography. (I'm also cross-posting in the People Photography forum.)

Photography in general has been my hobby for the last several years, and I've found that as I get more into dance photography, I seem to be reaching the limitations of what my current m4/3 system can do in low light with moving subjects. So I'm looking to add a system that will excel at shooting moving subjects in relatively low light (ballet and contemporary dance).

Currently I shoot with an Olympus E-M1 mounting either a Zuiko 35-100mm f2 zoom or Zuiko 150mm f2 prime (equivalent to focal lengths of 70-200mm and 300mm, respectively). Frame rate when shooting action is good (10/11fps), but focus tracking is not, and noise at high ISOs and in shadows is disappointing. So while I'm pleased with the overall performance vs the cost of the system, I'm now looking for the improvements in focus tracking and IQ that FF offers. (I plan to keep the m4/3 system as a companion to whichever FF system I add, probably upgrading to the E-M1 Mk2.)

While I'm sure that any high end body and lens combo from Canon, Nikon, or Sony would give me heaps of improvement in image quality and focus tracking, I'm fairly lost at sea trying to navigate the many different options. I'm planning on renting a system to try out at an upcoming rehearsal. Would anyone care to make some recommendations based on their experience?

To sum up:
In a body, I'm looking for: