Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2016 · I did an engagement session and the bride did not like the photos

Future Man
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · I did an engagement session and the bride did not like the photos

So I have never done engagement or wedding photos before but my friend who is getting married asked me to do an engagement session.

I thought it went pretty well but I guess the bride-to-be did not like the photos so much. My longest lens is a 50mm prime, so I'm thinking that was part of the problem? I should be using something longer?

I'm thinking of getting the Canon 135L so I have a lens that is more appropriate for portraits in situations like this.

Or maybe it's just my composition/positioning of the couple/communication on my end? I guess a lot of this (what works and doesn't) comes from experience as well.

here's the album I sent them:
http://sciulli.smugmug.com/Amy-Craig-Engagement-Photos/n-Zj6jxN/

any constructive criticism would be helpful.

Sep 08, 2016 at 03:43 PM
Future Man
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · I did an engagement session and the bride did not like the photos

BTW, I already offered to go back out with them, so I'll do another shorter session and hopefully get them to communicate a bit as to what more they'd like to see. I think I will have the 135L when we go again.

Sep 08, 2016 at 03:48 PM
eke2k6
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · I did an engagement session and the bride did not like the photos

Hmm it could be the editing. It's a little gritty and contrasts poorly (to my eye) with the happier expressions. She may also want her skin retouched more

Sep 08, 2016 at 03:49 PM
dhp_sf
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · I did an engagement session and the bride did not like the photos

Disappointment stems from expectations not being met. So in a nutshell, it just wasn't she expected.