New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Article by benjikan

dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Article by benjikan

Benjamin just posted a thread about his new Elle cover.

He's also been doing some writing. Here's his article Why Film Photography No Longer Works for Me

I'm thinking he'll find a pretty sympathetic audience here, but the comments section shows there are still film adherents that disagree.

Every once in a while I come across someone who started with digital photography and has since discovered film. I'm glad they are enjoying the novelty, but I'm bewildered by some of their claims.

I got my first film camera in 1957 and developed my first roll of film in 1959. I worked as a professional photographer for over 20 years in the film days. After shooting, developing and making prints from thousands of rolls of film, I have so much more flexibility with digital. I, for one, am glad to be out of the darkroom.

Sep 08, 2016 at 12:04 PM
friscoron
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Article by benjikan

I really miss the darkroom and all the magic that's created in there. I didn't even mind the nasty odor of fixer. I loved dodging and burning, failing, and doing it again. But shooting digital is a milion times better, and couldn't imagine ever going back. Just so much flexibility, and you know right away if you got the shot or not.

Sep 08, 2016 at 12:57 PM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Article by benjikan

friscoron wrote:
I really miss the darkroom and all the magic that's created in there.

The magical moment for me was when the print image would begin to appear in the developer.

Dodging and burning is an art. The good news is that every print from the same negative was unique. The bad news is that every print from the same negative usually fell a little short of your goals because of the nature of dodging and burning.