Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · X-Rite i1 Display Pro: Should i trust the "Measure and adjust for f...

Evangelos Makris
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · X-Rite i1 Display Pro: Should i trust the "Measure and adjust for flare"?

Hello,

i am new to color calibration and recently purchased the X-rite i1 Display pro to use for my Dell U2715H monitor.
So far i love the i1, i think it is really simple to use and very useful at the same time.

In my editing office, i have a roof lamp that i cannot block and its light hits my monitor.
My question is if i should trust the "Measure and adjust for flare" option in the i1 software, or if i should leave it unchecked.

The profiler suggests a luminance of 80cd/m^2 for this room.

Kindest regards,
Evangelos

Aug 28, 2016 at 08:12 AM
jrhoffman75
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · X-Rite i1 Display Pro: Should i trust the "Measure and adjust for flare"?

Can you fashion a hood for the monitor to shield it from overhead light?

You could calibrate with and without the option and see what you get? I have not used that option so I can't comment on it.

Aug 28, 2016 at 08:43 PM
EB-1
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · X-Rite i1 Display Pro: Should i trust the "Measure and adjust for flare"?

I never go lower than 100 nits and I turn off any ambient corrections. At least for calibration turn off the overhead light if you cannot block the monitor with a hood as mentioned above.

EBH

Aug 28, 2016 at 10:02 PM
Paul Mo
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · X-Rite i1 Display Pro: Should i trust the "Measure and adjust for flare"?