Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Need more power for Canon (ETTL)

idahophotoist

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need more power for Canon (ETTL)

I am a contract photographer for local fair and a lot of the events are in an enclosed arena, my current flash is only GN52@ISO100, the light falls off often too short of the action. The building is a black hole. I bought a new flash, which failed one day into the fair. The seller will refund, but now what do I buy? I am open for suggestions, PLEASE! Thanks

Aug 16, 2016 at 01:02 PM
WarrenL
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need more power for Canon (ETTL)

Do you just need power, or do you need TTL metering

Aug 16, 2016 at 01:24 PM
dhphoto
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Need more power for Canon (ETTL)

Or a camera with better high ISO and a faster lens?

Aug 16, 2016 at 01:44 PM
Anoop Shah
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Need more power for Canon (ETTL)

No on camera flash will be able to light an arena. You're going to need to up your ISO / open your lens / slow your shutter down to get ambient mixed in with what you're doing on camera.

We'll need a lot more information before we can really recommend anything. Budget? Does it have to be on camera? Does it have to be battery powered (or do you have access to A/C power)?

And if the Arena is that dark, and people are naturally used to not being able to see anything in the distance than don't worry about your pictures looking the same way. It would be considered normal.

Aug 16, 2016 at 02:17 PM
ugdog
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Need more power for Canon (ETTL)