New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Fast normal MF lens question

coase
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fast normal MF lens question

Hello. i'm new to the mirrorless world and only acquired an A7 a couple months ago. But I've been obsessively buying old MF lenses to complement the FDs and AIs I already own from decades past and having a blast. I prefer to buy 12 decent old 50/55s over one perfect AF fast 50 for the same price.

However, now that I've started comparing lenses I want to ask a basic question: Since I mostly use normal lenses at their widest for portraits (bokeh) or in low light shooting, I'm not sure I see much value in corner to corner sharpness at f2 or f1.4. Either the depth of field is very thin or I don't want the corners to be sharp anyway or both. I can see how super sharpness at all apertures would matter for a wide or super wide when shooting landscapes in lower light conditions, but a 50? Or 90? I guess I don't see how ulitmate sharpness outside the center is worth spending big money on.

Perhaps a naive comment but hoping to learn.

Aug 11, 2016 at 05:37 AM
Jonas B
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Fast normal MF lens question

Hi,
...and welcome.

As you say; "portraits or in low light" - well, what if somebody uses their lens in low light but still want a sharp image? I know, it doesn't happen every day but every now and then.
What if the important detail isn't in the geometrical center of the image? That happens to me, often. I still want the interesting subject sharp.
We are all different, no?

Aug 11, 2016 at 05:56 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Fast normal MF lens question

Welcome to FM.

coase wrote:
... Since I mostly use normal lenses at their widest for portraits (bokeh) or in low light shooting, I'm not sure I see much value in corner to corner sharpness at f2 or f1.4. ...