New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Flash Photography Advice

avi85

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Flash Photography Advice

Hi all,
I have Canon 5D MkII, been shooting landscapes and astro work mainly as a hobbyist.I'm a newbie when it comes to flash photography. I need to take some family portraits in the coming weeks.

I would like to take pictures with high-speed sync enabled.
Which flash do you guys recommend to buy? Are Yongnuo flashes any good? Do I need to buy a transmitter and receiver as well?

Also, I have an old SB-600 lying around, would it be possible to use that with my Canon 5D2?

Thanks in advance!

Jul 09, 2016 at 02:30 PM
dmacmillan
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Flash Photography Advice

I prefer off camera flash. Look at Phottix Odin and their flashes. It will do HSS. Why do you want to use it? If the ambient light is that high, it's usually during the time of day when light is ugly.

Jul 09, 2016 at 06:14 PM
BigIronCruiser
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Flash Photography Advice

The Cheetah V860X and Adorama Flashpoint R2 LiOn are re-branded Godox V860ii's; they're functionally the same except for the label. There are versions for Canon, Nikon and Sony. They support eTTL and Manual mode, but they also have built-in 2.4ghz transceivers that make it very easy to control remote V860X's. Transition to HSS is automatic above the x-sync speed of your 5D MkII. I have 4 of the Nikon versions. The recycle time with the LiOn batteries is impressive, and they last way longer than AA's.

Jul 09, 2016 at 07:57 PM
amci4
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Flash Photography Advice

The Flashpoint flashes are very reasonable at $100 a pop and the Yongnuo trigger / transceivers actually work very well (At least they do on my Nikon body).

Oh and is it safe to assume you're talking about Hypersync and not just High Speed Sync?

Jul 10, 2016 at 06:42 AM