Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · My First Time Wedding!!! Need your Help with some questions I have.

Docfilmer19

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · My First Time Wedding!!! Need your Help with some questions I have.

Hey everyone,

super excited yet super nervous for my first wedding gig happening right outside the Vail, CO area this September. It's not something I really plan on persuing for I am a filmmaker who loves video production but my friends sister is looking for a discounted photographer to just get good images of their big day and although I know I can do this I just wanted a little help from this fine community...

1) As i don't have the "right" camera i'm acquiring a 5Dmkiii from my company and probably renting glass from somewhere if not buying a lens at least and renting the rest. Suggestions on the particular glass? I imagine the fastest lens I can for the late night shootings/ reception?

2) I wont have the big fancy flashes but do you think buying a speedlite (canon speedlite 550ex, etc...) and getting to know it is the best option (remember, doing this on budget and can afford some stuff but also not charging a whole lot).

3) What is going to be the absolute moments or any other moments that you have particularly gotten that were a surprise that they just fully adored? (i.e. maybe while they were laughing with one another out back after the wedding? or bride giving the mother a hug?)

4) Best ways to practice? I'm going to use my gf in different light settings around my area in the Tetons with sunsets etc to simulate the scenery of the actual wedding... I'm up for any other things I need to take in account for this wedding that is happening in September so I can do this and knock it out of the park.

Thanks so much for whoever does respond to this forum.

Jul 08, 2016 at 11:28 AM
formula4speed