Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2016 · Photo license input please (nature photos)

wonderer
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Photo license input please (nature photos)

Greetings. Apologies in advance for the long post but I would greatly appreciate your help!

Let me start by saying I am not a pro, but an avid amateur bird and nature photographer. I have been approached by a friend who is developing a business that will include greeting cards. She has asked about using ten or more of my photographs for her products. We have started discussion regarding a licensing agreement.

One of my first stops was here, and then the ASMP website. I have gone through their information extensively. Another resource I reviewed was the blog of Caroline Wright, Photo Attorney (another helpful website). I’m getting a good idea of things to consider and have drafted a license that will be used as the starting point for discussions and negotiations with the prospective licensee.

Among the elements I’ve included are: media, distribution format, placement, image size, quantity of product using each unique image, duration, region, language, exclusivity, license fee, photo alteration, photo credits, and early termination.

Though I’m flattered my friend likes my work, I also know realistically this may not go far (or anywhere). However, I admire her gumption and can honestly envision her product line being successful and growing. So, I’m taking this seriously and hoping maybe I can advance with her business. There’s still a few things I’m wrestling with how to handle and would appreciate your input. I’ll include some of the draft license elements as background and then pose my challenges.