Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · My D5 experience thus far.

jlawrence
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · My D5 experience thus far.

I've been a full time photographer for quite some time now. I wanna say around 6-7 years. The last cameras I bought for myself were the D700s back in 2010. Before that I first had the D60, D90, and the D200.

I loved my D700s because of the pop-up flash and its ability to shoot at high frame rates with the use of 8 AA batteries. The pop-up allowed me to use off camera flashes, this would be the only thing I miss from the D700.

Out the door price on this was $7020. The salesman at the Santa Ana, CA Samy's camera compensated the price i paid in taxes with a 105mm 2.8D, Sandisk 32GB 160mbs CF card, and an extra battery.

My first shoot with the D5 was for the US Coast Guard. This first image was taken in almost complete darkness. The only thing visible to the naked eye was a red light from inside the cockpit of the camera and the chem light on the ground. With the helicopter less than 30 feet away from me, there was no way I could hear what was happening. I dragged my shutter, held on for dear life, and snapped away. I couldn't check my LCD because it would ruin my adapted night vision. This being my first shoot with the D5, the glowing buttons helped immensely.

1/5sec @ 1.8f ISO 204800 20mm nikkor 1.8G.
All I could place the focus point on was the red dot.

exposure +1.45
Contrast -40
Highlights -100
shadows +65
blacks -66
Whites +42
Vibrance +83