Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro & Still Life | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · First Macro with insects.

jstens

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First Macro with insects.

This was my first attempt at macro with insects. Edited in LR and pretty much a 100% crop. I deff enjoyed this but you really do need patience with bugs I probably followed this guy for an hour before I got this shot where it was in good position. Let me know what you think as Im still new to photography and would love to hear what you think or could work on thanks.Gear was Canon T5 18-135mm STM, Shot settings F/5.6, 135mm,1/200, iso 250, pop up flash fired.

May 27, 2016 at 03:18 PM
e6filmuser
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First Macro with insects.

You gave yourself a difficult start, with an almost black bee on an almost white flower! So a contrasty subject and a harsh light. Not a bad result in the circumstances.

Try f11 next time. Had you moved around to the right the legs would not have blocked the view of the face so much.

Keep trying.

Harold

May 27, 2016 at 03:52 PM
jstens

p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First Macro with insects.

Thanks yea I realized after how high an aperture I was working with a bit higher and I would have gotten maybe a better DOF. Thanks for the feedback.

May 27, 2016 at 04:52 PM
John Koerner
• •
[X]
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · First Macro with insects.

I think it's a pretty darned good image, by any account, given the difficulty of black-v-white, doubly-so if this is your first try

I am not sure what time of day you shot, but what I would try to get rid of is that "yellow wash" that plagues many flash shots as well as shots in direct sunlight. (I have taken the liberty to touch-up your image a bit, to show you what I mean: