New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Lens Bag for Nightclub Photography

nola_print

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Lens Bag for Nightclub Photography

Help! I'm looking for some advice on customizing the lenses I carry for nightclub work. I'm a hobbyist photographer with mid-grade gear. Occasionally I'm paid (not much) to do shoots, but mostly its just freebie shoots for friends and club owners.

My current lens bag contains:

Canon 5dMk3 (crucial due to needing the ISO for dark spaces)
Sigma 24-105mm F4 IS
Canon 50mm f1.4
Canon 580 EX II Speed light (chosen for reliability over the off camera Yongnuo 685s I own which dont work as well in ETTL)

My dilemma: Selecting a good lens set that covers the available range while remaining lightweight enough to be practical. Big lenses are great but they are difficult to carry, and I can't set my gear bag down at all in these environments, I have to carry it 24-7.

Current bag rationale: I picked the Sigma 24-105 f4 because of cost ($800). I actually once owned a Canon 24-70 f2.8 (mark 1 model) but it was stolen. The Sigma is slower than the Canon but I am nervous about buying a $1700 lens for a nightclub.

Meanwhile the 50mm f1.4 is there to give me the ability to shoot in very low light, which is crucial for stage shows. I love this lens. I would marry it and leave the Sigma at home entirely, except for one thing. The field of view is often too narrow to be useful. If I've got my 50 mounted and have to do a group photo I'm just hosed. There's often not enough room to back up, and shooting on-cam flash means staying within 15ft. So as much as I love it, I have to find a similar, wider lens.

Given all of this, I basically see myself as having 5 options.