FM Forums | Sony Forum | Join Upload & Sell

3       end

Archive 2016 · New Irix 11mm f/4 and 15mm f/2.4 lenses

bjornthun
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · New Irix 11mm f/4 and 15mm f/2.4 lenses

nntnam wrote:
Agree! As a physicist, I think it really sounds retarded.

Their home page looks nice though

http://irixlens.com/15mm.php

There will be two version: blackstone (best build quality) and firefly (light weight).

They talk about Swiss engineering, but that can't include anyone at CERN.

Mar 19, 2016 at 08:02 AM
nntnam
• •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · New Irix 11mm f/4 and 15mm f/2.4 lenses

bjornthun wrote:
They talk about Swiss engineering, but that can't include anyone at CERN.

Or maybe we're misunderstanding them?! They're about to releasing a new neutrino camera with neutrino sensor. Combining with this lens, it can catch neutrinos (and photons too) ?!

Mar 19, 2016 at 08:08 AM
Tariq Gibran
• • • • • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · New Irix 11mm f/4 and 15mm f/2.4 lenses

AGeoJO wrote:
How could a new lens company dare to skip the currently high in demand FE mount ?

It looks to be designed from the start for DSLR's. A mirrorless version would essentially have a built in adapter added to the rear, just like the Samyang FF FE lenses. Maybe those have not been so popular since they were not designed as FE lenses from the start? I don't know. Funny how the rumor was so off though. No mirrorless mounts:
"And as far as I heard those lenses will certainly be available for Sony E-mount and MFT too. Not sure about other mounts yet…"

Mar 19, 2016 at 08:11 AM
mcbroomf
• • • • •
p.2 #4 · p.2 #4 · New Irix 11mm f/4 and 15mm f/2.4 lenses

I like the focus calibration. Takes all the furor away from adapters (assuming they don't introduce decentering). The rear gel is good too considering the 95mm filter size. Would have been better to have E-mount though.

It will be interesting to see how it compares to the Samyang 14mm WO for stars...

Mar 19, 2016 at 08:49 AM
justruss